top of page

Using the "Outcome Outline"


I've got really exciting news that I haven't told anyone yet: I am writing another book! Now, I have not got very far into it, but I am really excited to get all of my thoughts about the subject onto paper. The book is called (for now), There's No Such Thing as a Stupid Question.


Now I know what you are thinking, "There are definitely stupid questions." Well, I guess you need to read my book when it is out. Now the exciting new thing for me and this blog is that as I am writing my next book, I can show you things I do as I am doing it! I can show you how I do things such as set up a template to format my book, put it on Amazon, come up with examples, add endnotes or footnotes, and more. And as I learn new things, I can keep you up to date as I am learning.


Today, I want to show you how I do my outline. Now, just because I post it here on my blog doesn't mean it is final. This is a rough outline, that has been through a few phases, but it is still subject to change if I find it needs it.


If you read my first ever blog, you will recall that I said before you start a project, answer three questions:

  1. What is the message that you would like conveyed throughout the book?

  2. Who is the audience you are writing to?

  3. What are your goals to do with the book after it is complete?

If you were to take coaching from me through Authorize, we would discuss these things right away. If you want your outline to flow, you must have these questions answered. But once you do, you are ready to start your outline. Now for me, my initial outline is divided into chapters. A main "point" is a chapter.


Now I divide my chapters into three sections: "The Point," "The Outline," and "The Connection." To see why I do this, read this blog from earlier. But what I want to show you today is how I do that. Notice I put the three questions, and my answers at the top of the outline. This causes me to remember these when I am writing the point, outcome, and connection.

I use Excel® (but any spreadsheet system will work) and divide my rows into chapters and the columns into the three sections.


I currently have 10 chapters.

  1. Two Life Changing Realizations

  2. You Never Seek an Answer to a Question You Never Ask

  3. Search the Scriptures

  4. Question Everything, Dismiss Nothing

  5. Ever Learning, Never Coming to the Knowledge of the Truth

  6. What Is Truth?

  7. If You Dare Question the Truth, It Will Prove True

  8. Teach Others to Question You

  9. Opinions Vs. Knowledge

  10. Prospering Like a Tree Planted by the Rivers of Water

But I started with about 15. Originally, I wrote down potential chapters for a book about questioning things to find the truth. I didn't consider the order or how much it matched the initial three questions, I just brainstormed ideas writing them down. Then I arranged them to something that seemed like it might make sense, and try to give them a title that might work as an article title by itself. As I arranged them, I went down to 12 chapters as I realized some of the topics could be part of the same chapter. Then I took my 12 chapters and started putting them into my "Outcome Outline" under the answers to my questions.


As I put them into the spreadsheet, I make sure the chapters are keeping in line with my answers to the message, the audience, and the goal. It isn't until this step that I am thinking of answers for the point, outcome, and connection. As I do this, it helps me finalize what I want to discuss in each chapter. It also makes me determine if the next chapter is in the right spot because I am forced to connect the two chapters. Finally, it give me a final outcome of the book, as I pick my outcome for the last chapter.


Notice that I don't have a connecting section for the final chapter. So according to my outline I start with two realizations I had in my own life (about questions), and end with how a life with questions leads to prosperity. This outline will direct my thoughts and keep me from getting on rabbit trails that don't support the outline. But I also have the flexibility to add another chapter later if I feel like there is a point I must add. I am just forced to be able to make that point connect with the previous and next chapters. If it doesn't, it won't flow, and it won't lead people to the final outcome of the book.


I hope this inside look into how I outlined my next book will help you with your next writing project.


Joel Collison is the founder of Now Written Christian Books and an editor and coach for aspiring authors through Authorize.

36 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page