top of page

Free Help for Writers [Originally published July 15, 2021]



One amazing benefit to the internet is all the available "free" information out there. Now, in case you haven't realized, there are different levels of "free." Some information you simply find and read, and the cost is simply the amount of time it took to acquire the info. Other "free" information comes at the cost of looking at or listening to an ad before or while you have access to the information. Still others are free if you sign up and share your name and email address. This type of free is usually a higher value of information but comes at the cost of unwanted emails until you unsubscribe. As the "free" becomes less and less "true" free, the value of the information you read becomes greater and greater.


My goal in writing this blog is to not only give you free information that is truly free, but to also give you the highest level of information value. I don't want to be "holding back the good stuff" for people who pay for my coaching services or give me their email addresses. True, there will be specific details to your book that I can directly address as your coach or editor, but it is not my intention to leave out valuable information from this blog.


Now, when you are on my website, you will see that you can sign up for my email list. That is there for people who actually want emails from me. (What a novel idea!) At the moment, I haven't been sending out emails, so I certainly am not pushing that, and the best information that I'll be sharing is on this blog. But in the future, I'll use that email list to let people know about special deals and maybe will send this blog straight to subscribers as soon as I upload one on my website. So if you want that, you can sign up for my email list. But right now, I'll be simply giving you "the good stuff" here on the blog for everyone to access.


Here is my question: Since I am willing to share with you valuable information, what are some things that you want to learn? If you could learn anything about brainstorming, writing, or publishing a book, what are some specific concepts that you would like me to address? Would you like advice on some grammar rules? Would you like me explain the pros and cons of self and traditional publishing? Is there a specific controversial English rule you want me to address? I am sure I will do all of those, but I would like to address the topics you want me to address.


For example, my blog about outlining has received by far the most feedback. Not all agreed with it, but I received mostly positive feedback. Plus I heard several times how that specific blog helped others with their writing. Since I was able to give beneficial information, that blog was a huge success in my book. How did I decide to write on that topic? It was suggested from one of you readers!


So if you have any ideas, you can email me at authorizebookcoach@gmail.com, or you can comment in one of my posts about this blog.


The Bible says that it is more blessed to give than to receive. I have received much free information from the internet over the years, but until recently, I had not given free information to others over it. This blog is my chance to do that, and I have already received the benefit of giving to others from it. I'll certainly continue to blog, but I'd love to be sharing things that you want to learn about. So let me know what topics you would like to read about, and I'll try to either do an entire blog about that topic, or mention it in part of a related blog.


Here's your "free" information for today – successful writers write valuable content. That is how they continue to attract more readers and convince many of them to buy books or services from them. Successful writers earn trust by providing valuable information without asking anything in return.


Joel Collison is the founder of Now Written Christian Books and an editor and coach for aspiring authors through Authorize.


0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page